James Leger

Professor James Leger

The Physics of Coherent Fiber Laser Beam Combining

We explore the self-phasing behaviour observed between fibers in a coherent laser array.  By isolating the contribution from the Kramers-Kronig effect, we show that this mechanism can compensate for random phase errors in the array.

Prof. James Leger received his BS degree in Applied Physics from the California Institute of Technology (1974) and Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of California, San Diego (1980). He has held previous positions at the 3M Company, and MIT Lincoln Laboratory.  He is currently professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of Minnesota, where he holds both the Cymer Professorship of Electrical Engineering and the Mr. and Mrs. George W. Taylor distinguished professorship.  His research group is studying a wide variety of optical techniques, including laser mode control and beam shaping techniques, spectral and coherent laser beam combining, optical metrology, solar energy optics, design of nonclassical imaging systems, and microoptical engineering.  Prof. Leger is currently serving as senior deputy editor of Optics Express, is a past member of the steering committee for the OSA/IEEE Conference on Lasers and Electrooptics (CLEO), and has recently served on the Board of Directors of the Optical Society of America.
Prof. Leger has been awarded the 1998 Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize by the Optical Society of America, the 1998 Eta Kappa Nu outstanding teaching professor award, the 2000 George Taylor Award for Outstanding Research at the University of Minnesota, the 2006 Eta Kappa Nu Outstanding teaching Professor award, the ITSB professor of the year award (2006), the Morse Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching (2006), the George Taylor Distinguished Teaching Award (2007), and the George Taylor Service Award (2008).  He has recently been inducted into the academy of distinguished teachers at the University of Minnesota.  He is a Fellow of the Optical Society of America, Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), and Fellow of the International Society of Optical Engineers (SPIE).