Jul 3 - 6, 2012 2512 days remaining

download calendar

Premier Sponsor


Welcome to ESAM12

The Econometric Society Australasian Meeting in 2012 (ESAM12) will be held in Melbourne, Australia, from 3 to 6 July 2012 and hosted by Deakin University. The meeting venue is The Langham Hotel Melbourne. The program will consist of world famous keynote and invited speakers, as well as contributed papers on a wide range of topics including: theoretical and applied econometrics, microeconomics, and macroeconomics. The Conference Organising Committee is formed by an energetic group of academics from the School of Accounting, Economics and Finance at Deakin University. The Academic Program Committee includes high profile researchers from the region.

Key Dates

1 November 2011                     
Full paper submissions begin
21 March 2012
Due date for submission of papers
21 April 2012
Notification of authors regarding their submission
22 May 2012
Earlybird Registration closes
1 June 2012
Last day for authors to confirm place in program
2 July 2012
Online Registration closes
3 July 2012
Onsite Registration
3.00pm - 6.00pm
The Langham Hotel Melbourne, Southbank
3 July 2012
Cocktail Reception
5.00pm - 7.00pm
Alto Room, The Langham Hotel Melbourne 
4-6 July 2012 ESAM12 Conference
The Langham Hotel Melbourne
5 July 2012
Conference Dinner
Crown Towers Hotel, Southbank

ESAM12 Committees

Conference Chairs

Associate Professor Mehmet Ulubasoglu         Co-chair
Professor Michael Kidd (QUT) Co-chair

The following academics from Deakin University form the Conference Organising Committee.

Conference Organising Committee

Dr Prasad Bhattacharya  
Dr Aydogan Ulker  
Dr Luca Colombo  
Dr Cong Pham  
Dr Debdulal Mallick  
Dr Xueli Tang  
Dr Mokhtarul Wadud  
Dr CJ Sun  
Dr Emin Gahramanov  
Dr Cahit Guven  
Dr Abdul Hayat Muhammad  
Dr Sarah Carrington  

Academic Program Committee

Professor Michael Kidd Labour Economics
Associate Professor Mehmet Ulubasoglu Development Economics
Professor Nejat Anbarci Game Theory
Professor Chris Doucouliagos Productivity and Efficiency Analysis
Professor Paresh Narayan Applied Econometrics
Professor Pasquale Sgro Economic Growth
Professor Joakim Westerlund   Financial Econometrics 
Professor Andrew McLennan (UQ) Economic Theory
Professor Devashish Mitra (Syracuse) Political Economy
Professor Jakob Madsen (Monash) Empirical Macroeconomics
Professor Ian King (Melbourne) Macroeconomic Theory
Professor Nicholas Feltovich (Monash) Experimental Economics
Professor Adrian Pagan (Sydney) Time Series Econometrics
Associate Professor Olan Henry (Melbourne)   Financial Econometrics
Professor Flavio Menezes (UQ) Microeconomic Theory, Regulation
Professor John Geweke (UTS) Bayesian Econometrics
Professor Michael Keane (UNSW) Applied Microeconometrics
Professor Kevin Fox (UNSW) Environmental Economics
Dr Prasad Bhattacharya International Macroeconomics
Dr Aydogan Ulker Health Economics
Dr Luca Colombo Industrial Organisation
Dr Cong Pham International Trade

Satellite Workshops and Conferences

Annual Conference of the Society of Advanced Economic Theory
30 June -2 July 2012
University of Queensland, Brisbane
Vist the website: Annual Conference of the Society of Advanced Economic Theory

41st Australian Conference of Economists
8 -12 July 2012
Visit the website: 41st Australian Conference of Economists

2012 Association for Public Economic Theory Workshop on Public Private Partnerships
25th and 26th June 2012 
Tangalooma Island Resort, Brisbane
Visit the website: APET Workshop on Public Private Partnerships

4th Global Conference on SME, Entrepreneurship & Service Innovation (GCSMES) 2012
12-13 July 2012
Hyatt Regency, Sanctuary Cove, Gold Coast
Visit the website: GCSMES 2012